NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Separation Anxiety?

Darkfifi29

Hi friends

Could you advise me please?

My baby Grey is coming home in a bout 4 weeks. My concern is that a few times a year I travel overseas to exhibitions or to photograph in museum collections. Because NZ is so far away from Europe and USA, I would normally stay away for about 2-3 weeks. My priority this year is not to travel, but to learn to be a responsible and loving companion to my parrot. I don't want to damage our bond as it develops, or let him feel I have abandoned him by going away overseas for too long.

However, I have no experience with what 'too long' is for a parrot. Because I work from home I can offer a lot of quality time to him, but I will have to fly around NZ some times for a day or two for business, but no plane travel in NZ takes longer than 2 hours anyway, the islands are small compared to the continents. I also travel by car a lot with my dogs, so the wee parrot is going to be coming too in a Cell-tie travel cage. Its just the overseas trips that I am worried about. What do you think?

If there is someone else who can take care of her..its fine because I think it would be a little scary for her to travel so much. If theres no one you can leave her with- its better if you would take her with you. But I'm pretty sure there would be a nursery or some friend who has birds with whom you could leave her with. I would prefer not to carry her around especially coz its for work and you may not be able to give her enough time anyway...

You will need to someone take care of your grey when you are gone. Make certain it is someone that already knows parrots and how to care for them or it is a person you have introduced and and gone over food items and correct feeding/watering times etc.