NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Hi, I'm new to the Forum - Kathy

Kasia

Hello, thank you for your warm welcome! My name is Kathy. I live in Phoenix, Arizona. I have one daughter who will be 22 this year who lives in San Francisco. I've been a medical transcriptionist for going on 23 years and working at home for the last 15.

I have been enjoying finches in an indoor aviary for about 5-6 years now. I focus on owl finches but also have 2 canaries, 2 european goldfinches (one without a leg - I adopted him from Petsmart as his let got cut off by the cage door in the store - he's wonderful), 4 gouldians, 8 or so society finches, 2 spice finches, 2 strawberry finches and 2 orange cheeked waxbills.

I have two parakeets also that stay in my office with me while I'm working.

I am finishing up "For the Love of Greys". I wish to complete that book before bringing my baby home. I have ordered other books from Amazon.com -- a couple on Alex and how he learned the way he did.

I would appreciate any feedback on the allocation of time that my Grey should stay in his cage in another room vs. how long during the day he should be on his perch inside my office. He will be in my office and I will turn around occasionally and talk and chit-chat, but for the most part he will only be hearing music in the background and my keystrokes.

I have heard that it is when they are babies is when you don't want to over-cuddle or they will get accustomed to that and may become accustomed to that time frame of "play time". So, your feedback is appreciated on that as well.

I will keep you all posted on when I bring my baby home (first getting the cere issue cleared up-thx).

I'm all giddy on the inside like I will be bringing home a new baby.

Thanks for welcoming me so warmly!

:) :) :)

Kathy (Kasia)