NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Emz210

Hi, My name is Emma and I have never owned a parrot before. I currently own a canary but have always wanted to have my own African Grey. I have brought a new cage toys and bit and bobs but not yet found the right bird for me. Obviousley I am being picky as this is a life long commitment.

Does anyone know a good breeder? I am looking for a baby male Congo. I am based in Nottingham.

Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Hello Emma and welcome to our family.

While you look for breeders or even consider a rehome or rescue please research and read all you can so you will be prepared for when you do get one for it is a lifelong committment so know what you are getting into.

Hi

Thanks for your messages. I have been researching and learning for about the last 6 months, and been wanting an African Grey for the last 5-6 years. The only thing I am not sure is how to spot a good bird as a baby. I have arranged to go and see a baby tomorrow night, its a bit of a drive away just over 2hrs. I have been told to make sure the bird is plump and not skinny, shows signs of affection and will come on to my hand without biting and not shy away. Make sure there eyes are black as this will indicate they are babies. I have been told that they are 9 weeks old and will be ready in 3 weeks time. They are closed rung and come with hatch certificates. The breeder is not sure of the breed. Is this something they should be?

If any one has any advice it would be greatly appreciated. :)

Thanks

Emma

the only thing I can tell you is the ONLY way to know the sex of the bird for sure is by blood test (I think its where they take a feather) so if you have your heart set on only a boy make sure you have the test done..... I wanted a boy too but once I bonded with Marco for 11 weeks and found out she was a girl ... it just didnt matter at that point! I was already addicted to her :D :D