NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Help!

Waspy

Our baby female African Grey is about 15 weeks old, we have had her for about a week.

In the last two days she has started scratching repeatedly at the bars of her cage, constantly, it is becoming an obsession.

It is a large cage with several toys. We let her out of the cage for a couple of hours every evening.

Another thing is she only seems to want to eat peanuts.

Any help or advice please.

What was your breeder feeding her when she was being weaned? Peanuts should only be a TREAT. At this point she needs to learn to eat healthy foods in addition to the pellets that would contain balanced nutrition. I would ignore the obsessive behavior but be quick to reward her for being calm. Maybe taking her out of her cage more frequently (when she is not scratching). I am no expert but greys are very smart and will quickly learn to get what they want, often in a way that we do not want! :rolleyes: I am sure many others will offer suggestions as well.

In the last two days she has started scratching repeatedly at the bars of her cage, constantly, it is becoming an obsession.

Do you have a video? That would be helpful. Scratching can be normal - especially if you mean on the floor of her cage. Also stop and watch what you are doing when she scratches. If you are taking her out of her cage and cuddling her - the scratching works to her benefit.

She's a baby and she will do her best to only eat what she wants. Limit her access to peanuts - treats only. .