NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Hello to all

Hi. My name is Robert and I have got back into having an African Gray. Quick history lesson on me. In 1993 I brought my first African Gray. Got her on two feedings a day and she was the best pet anyone could ever ask for.

She was my baby. At the time I was a rookie police officer and had a steady shift. Then in 95 I got promoted to Detective and my world went into over drive. The Gray suffered. She was left alone for blocks of time. She didn't handle that well. That along with my brother moving in due to losing his job.

She started to pluck. Bad. I ended up buying her a companion thinking that it would make it better. I brought her a double yellow head amazon. It made things worst.

To make a long story short. I ended up giving her up to my mothers friend who retired on disability and had all the time in the world dedicate to her.

Here we are 17 years later. I now retired from the NYPD on the 29th of June. So today, a day before my 42 birthday, I went out and adopted a 4 year old female gray.

I just spent a 1 1/2 hour car ride with her on my shoulder. What a drive. She stayed on my shoulder and every time i went to touch her she put her head down to be scratched.

Then when I got home I introduced her to the family. She went on all their hands. She went into the cage and ate had some water and fell asleep.

It feels like a void in my life has been filled. No words can explain how I feel.

Anyway just wanted to introduce myself and say Hi.

Robert

Thanks all. Well today was a great day two for all of us and the gray who's name is Lola. I have to say that I don't understand why the prior owner got rid of her. This is the most well rounded gray I have ever seen.