NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Would a grey be right for me??

SKW

So I have been really considering getting a congo grey for a while now but I am a little hesitant/nervous..

Right now, I have quite a lot of time on my hands, I only work weekends and a couple days during the week as of now. I am a freelance makeup artist, so I have no set work schedule... Would this be an issue for keeping a grey? I am nervous about it starting to pluck its feathers because of my sporadic schedule, I would feel horrible if this started to happen... But I'm also wondering if my free time would help make up for it??

I know how demanding parrots are (I used to have a sun conure that constantly wanted to be out of the cage and with me) But I feel like I could be using all my free time right now to care for a grey.. It's a sticky situation for me..

Also, how good are greys with moving? I am not moving anytime soon but just want to know for future reference...

I truly love parrots and my life just doesn't feel complete without one but I don't want to make any wrong choices.. Thanks for your guys' advice! I still have lots more questions too :)

my grey Cody is a great bird but he is very independant and only wants cuddles on his time lol some days he is very sweet and other days he can be very bitey , he turned a year old July 7th so he is still young and would I get another grey probably not , we have added a Amazon to our flock and I would definitly get another amazon before I would get another grey , I love my Cody but I love Rocky our amazons personality and temperment much better

It is my understanding that a grey can be very good with a variable schedule as long as that is introduced early on. (Creatures of habit?)

If you keep things mixed up (in a non-stressful way), your grey will handle change fairly well.

If you have a very rigid schedule, then the bird will fall in lock-step and not handle change well.