NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Adopted an African Grey but having problems, any advice?

Scottish_Gaz

Hi, im new to owning any kind of bird. Ive always wanted an african grey and after having a talk with my wife, we decided to adopt and african grey. I dont have any experience but plenty of time and love to give into making a bond with him. He was born 1st march 2010 so he is over 1 years old. I travelled 70 miles to collect him yesterday then the same back. No distance bothered me as it was for a good cause. He was owned by a couple and there 4 kids. I was told he is friendly and tamed, and was told he was needing rehomed due to not being able to give him the attention he needed or deserved. We got him home yesterday, got his cage all set up and we let him be nosey for a while before putting him back into his cage. Now im already worried for him which ill come on to in a minute. First thing is he will not come to me what so ever, when ever i approach him, he tilts his head and all his feathers fluff up like i come across as a threat to him. He isn't so keen on my wife either but he doesnt get so affended from her. He comes to my wife when he wants to and its been her thats got him back into his cage yesterday and today. I understand this as he seems to like my wifes voice and i beleive his previous owner was a female who he was closer to. Now i am going to be the main parent of him but will his opinion of me change? I have tried to feed him but he will not take nothing from me, and if i move close to him, he gets scared and quickly moves away.

I know its only been 1 day and i know im going to need to earn his trust. All i want is some information on how its best to earn his trust and what steps im best taking to show him i only want to love him.