NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

parrot on your shoulder?

Hi all I am new to the african grey family! Ziggy joined our family on thursday! after settling down in her new cage and home. I decided to let her out on friday afternoon! All Ziggy wants to do is sit on my shoulder! If I take her off she just fly back on! When I place her on the play gym! So that we can practice step up! No she takes off onto the shoulder! Please any advise to a new DAD would be great! Is sitting on your shoulder a bad thing??

Hi coach white and Ziggy and welcome to the grey forum family.

To answer your question about shoulder sitting being bad. IMO no it`s not bad, but there has to be rules.

First how old is Ziggy and is she/ he a rehome or are you his /her first home.

Step up is the most important thing you can teach your grey IMO.

When she lands on your shoulder will she step up onto your hand ?

Does Ziggy bite, If he /she does than no shoulder sitting, you will have to block your shoulder with your hand so he/she can`t land there.

Tell us more about Ziggy and we love pictures.

P.S.

I have a congo grey, a BF amazon and two cockatiels and to them my shoulder is the best place in the world. But they do know the rules and will step up when it`s time to come down.

Hi Ray P

Thank you for your reply! As soon as I learn to upload photo of Ziggy I will.

My guess she is about 5-6 months old there are no rings around her eyes. They are all one colour slightly grey but also black. I am Ziggy first owner I have only had her for about 48 hrs.

She does not bite at all while on my shoulder or does she when I take her off!

The good thing about Ziggy is she is not afraid of me I say this because when she fly off and lands on tables ect! She always looks to fly back to my shoulder. When we practice step up! She put one foot up then flaps her wings once or twice and onto my shoulder she goes!