NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Zoey the bird and chewing

Umberlla

Hello,

A month ago my mother finally got the pet she has always wanted, an African Gray. Zoey is a three year old (his birthday was the 25th) male African Gray. He was sexed wrong when his previous owner got him so thats why he has a female name.

Unfortunately for my mom, she spends most of her day at her job, and I tend to spend more time at home because I am a student. So I am the one who spends the day having fun with the bird. Zoey has been an absolute blast to bro out with. He likes to repeat things back to me and really has behaved incredibly well till recently. Three days ago (about the time I started school again) he started to fly from his perch in my room to my desk and attack my keyboard, water cup, watch, or really anything else he can get his beak on. It got even worse today. He was always good at riding on my shoulder and leaving my ears and glasses alone, but now they are the sole focus of his attention when he is on my shoulder.

I have tried giving him a toy to chew on instead of objects that are no-no's and he simply ignores the toy and goes for the object. His previous owner said he loves to shred paper and so I tried to give him some crumpled up news paper for him to chew on while he walked on my desk, and he still just went for other things. The "choice" method doesn't seem to work with him because he makes the wrong choice. I really don't enjoy caging him when he does this because I don't want him to think that if he wants to go to his cage, all he has to do is chew things. I understand that parrots are destructive pets, but I'd rather he didn't chew on a few things.

Health wise he seems very healthy. He eats all of his food when we feed him, perches with 1 foot regularly during the day when I am home with him, and is very chatty. He just seems to want to play with the wrong things.