NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Is my CAG a genius??????

Hi,

I am new to African Greys and new to this forum. I have a female CAG whom I bought from a breeder at 8 weeks and have been sucessfully hand-feeding. She is now 13 weeks and thriving. I have read a lot about CAG language acquisition, but not too much detail on the other sounds they make. My CAG, Bodhi, began wolf whistling at 9 weeks, then came the "hey you" whistle within a week, then she started copying kissy and clicky noises, and last week she started a big laugh "HAHAHAHAHA." She is very attentive to sounds and seems really interested in everything around her. She is curious, outgoing, and cuddly. Am I wrong to think I have a genius on my hands? or shall I say, on my shoulder? hahaha. If she is going to be a good talker, any advice on how to promote this - I would rather she understand what people and she is saying rather than just mimic words. Thanks!! Gail:)

Hello Gail and welcome to our family, so glad you could join us and we look forward to hearing lots more about you and Bodhi.

Thats an unusual name but I like it, does it have a special meaning?

I think all greys are geniuses, some more so than others but she is doing great to be just 13 weeks old. They all start out with mimicing all sorts of sounds and whistles which progresses to actual words and phrases. Some do carry on conversations with their owners and though they may not know what the spoken word actually means they do understand more than what most people give them credit for.

You won't have to do anything special to make her more talkative, just carry on a normal conversation with her, telling her what you are doing and using the same words for the same things so she associates that item with that word, we have had some members carry on some interesting talks with their grey that way.