NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Hello - I need some advice on getting a Grey

nikhilesh

Hello All,

My name is Nikhil and i'm a photographer by passion; and one of my most loved selection is birds. I just adore how they are and their behavior out free.

My passion for birds have been for a long time and i always wanted a bird to keep with me. But i never liked the concept of keeping them caged and clipping their wings. I like them free and hence never moved forward to get one. But as i have learned about Greys over the day, i like the way they enjoy being around humans as well as reside in a cage as well out of sheer choice. So i was looking forward to get myself one.

Just to be honest to myself and everyone here so i can get a fair opinion, i had gotten myself 2 tortoises years back and they stay now with my parents as i have moved out. I thought, as i was quite young then, that i would always take care and love them. But slowly i seem to have lost a sense of touch towards them. I truly felt in time, as i grew, that its because they are reptilians and are cold blooded in nature and do not gel with humans (ofcourse).

Now this guilt of disconnection stays with me and sometime i feel i may not be a good pet owner towards a Grey. I love animals extensively but do not want to neglect them nor be a bad pet owner. If they get a better place than my own i would not want to spoil their coming years. But at the same time i do know that i will love a pet that ill have, as i always seem to gel well with other people's pets (cats, dogs etc) and even stray ones outside.

So its a sort of a fight internally regarding how i feel and would want to be a honest and loving pet owner. Greys excite me and birds hold a different place in my perspective of fauna.

Could you guys please advice? Would appreciate any kind and honest words. Thanks!