NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

News travels fast

Karcar

Hello Guys,

Boy am I in a dilema, I just received a phone call from a Boxer rescue group in Reno that heard of our rescue of Angel and ask if there was any info or if I would be interested in helping with a lady that they have gotten info on that has 182 birds in a small house. From what I understand the conditions are pretty bad. I'm not unwilling to help but I am not that experienced in this area. I work in a drug rehab, we don't deal with OCD or any type of mental disorders which this clearly is I am not familiar with hoarding and what the law allows in regards to bird ownership which I understand she can call herself a rescue or breeder and have quite a large number of birds. I know we got no where legally with this so called gentleman that had been Angel previous owner, birds for some reason have less rights that cats and dogs do at least in this state. What should I do? or better get what can I do? I have googled this in everyway I can think of and actually read a case where a lady had over 100 macaws and other birds and as soon as she got things cleaned up she was given the birds back. Any advice I hate to just refuse to even offer a suggestion of any kind I am going to be making calls tomorrow to the humane society, etc, etc If I am to be a completely honest I am a little gun shy right now after all that we went thru with poor sweet Angel but I'm not the type of person to just sit idle either. What do you think where do I start? I also thought about contacting her family but from what I understand her husband has already passed on and she has one son that moved to Boston because his mother refused to accept his gay lifestyle. There is a bird rescue in Reno as well but this lady isn't looking to have her birds rescued. Any and all suggestions are most welcome.

:confused:

Karen

• Haha 1