NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Advice for an adoptive parront?

EdiferiousRex

I'm preparing to take on a pair of greys, "Romeo" and "Juilet." They are roughly 6-8 years old, I will be their 3rd home. The current owner is getting their estate in order to go to a nursing home facility, and as I veterinary professional (specifically with a lot of bird experience) I was recommended as a contact for her in this difficult situation.

I joined the forum here just under 2 years ago now when I was entitled the care of a middle aged (20's-30's) grey with sever chronic plucking and calcium deficiency that was dumped at my hospital. I appreciated him for everything he taught me in the short time he had with me. I have said since his passing that I'd do it again in a heart beat, but I'd not go buy a grey, or create a home for one that wasn't in need. I have the time, I have some knowledge (I'll be the first to admit I'm constantly learning more), and I have the heart, last but not least I have the financial means and network to support proper grey medical care.

So here I am, reaching out to you again for advice: How do I best make the pair's transition smooth? I visit them 1-2 times a week to interact for a few hours at a time at this point. "Romeo" has decided I'm fascinating, he enjoys sitting with me and grumbling (supposedly doesn't talk.) However this makes "Juliet" very jealous. She is unsure of me, and upset with him for interacting with me.

I'd love if anyone has transitional advice for the move; winning her over; changing their diet (more seeds than I find advisable currently;) or just any advice you may have for adopting a set of bonded greys. This is uncharted territory for me.

I read over the must read threads a few times to reinforce the knowledge I have of greys, and learning some new things, but found little about bonded pairs of greys.

Thanks for all your help in advance!