NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

your job??

eubankclare

Hello

Im considering getting an african gray but im a little worried that i work full time, im a teacher so even though i get good hols every term i will be out of the house from 8-4/5 5 days a week.

My partner will be home between this and prob can let the gray out of its cage but if not will it be ok in its cage from 8am till 4/5PM?

Im sure some of you on here must have full time jobs, just wondered how you worked it?

Thanks

Clare

Yes, I live alone and work full time. Issac seems no worse for the wear when I leave him home for those hours, I also leave some light music playing for him and lots of toys in his cage. On the flip side, I let him out the whole time I am home which is anywhere between 5-8 hours a day of out-time. This is still on the high end for recommended out time. I heard there must be a minimum of 3 hours of out-of-cage time but someone can correct me if I am wrong. I read about some members being gone for 10 hours during the day and their birds are just fine. Just be sure to spend quality time with them when you are home. My schedules can be as follows:

Wake up at 7:30 and let Issac out, fed him and such

Back to cage around 8:45 for the day, leave some music on and the windows open so he can see outside too. Fresh water and veggies and mix for the day

Back home at around 4:30 - 5PM, let him out and feed him

(At this point, sometimes I have to go care for my daughter away from home and willbe gone from 6-8PM so i will leave then, otherwise he is out from the time I get home till 10-11PM)

Put Issac to bed around 10:30 or so.

Repeat