NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Baby Grey

Noely

Hi My Name is Noel and i recently bought a 12 week old african grey Called Tucker, this is my first time owning a parrot and im trying to learn as i go along so if any body has any tips on how to bond with a parrot at such a young age please let me know.

Hello, Noel, and welcome to the family, we are glad you joined and congrats on your new grey. You will find a lot of information in the threads here on this forum, why don't you read them over, a lot of what you want to know is contained within them.

You just basically take care of your new grey with proper diet, a suitable cage, and plenty of toys. Spend some time each day with Tucker, teach him to step up on your command and in no time he will be bonded to you. When he learns new things, give him plenty of praise, but never punish him for doing wrong, use positive reinforcement.

He should be caged when you are not at home but when you are home let him out to spend time with you and whoever else is there. He needs some social time and introduce him to guests when they are in your home.

We are glad you joined the family of grey owners and soon you will enjoy what we have known for a long time, its a greyt world.

Greetings Noely! Congratulations on the new addition to your family and welcome to the family here!! Please ask questions, browse the site, search posts to find information and have fun!!

Judygram provided some great basic tips. You need patience, repetition and a steady dose of love to build a relationship of trust with the bird. This must be an approach you adopt and commit to for the entire long life of the animal. If you do so, you will be rewarded with an amazing friend that is intelligent, funny, beautiful and just amazing! B)