NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

How scarred up is your right hand?

Lambert58

Left for you lefties :)

We have 6 fids, and after 1 year, I'd have to say I don't even feel the bites any more. My index finger and thumb look like I'm a professional weed whacker stopper lol.

I'll qualify this by saying we don't want our fids to bite, and we do everything we can, but somtimes they're not trying to hurt us but they rip off a solid "beaking" that draws blood, but it's ok lol.

Lol - I went through a phase with Alfie earlier last year where I was getting regular and serious bites. Touch wood, I think we've knocked that on the head so my scarring days are behind me - phew!! But yes, it was all on my right hand. Haven't had any for a while (you watch - I'll bet I just jinxed me!)

P.s. What is a weed whacker stopper!!!??? The most I can figure out is it's something to do with horticulture?

You get used to it after the third skin graft :evil:

Seriously when people tell me they want to get a cute parrot just like mine I warn them that apart from the expense, the mess the noise and the lifetime commitment to a spoilt flying permanent three year old brat. They could also take chunks out of their hands. They are wonderful creatures but never to be taken up on a whim!

Misty rarely inflicts a hard bite on me and it is always my fault when he does.

Steve n Misty<br><br>Post edited by: Mistyparrot, at: 2010/01/11 15:19

Lol, my left hand has lots of little scratches that I get daily from her talons, but luckily nothing big... Yoshi very rarely leaves a mark with her beak, just hard enough to hurt and get her point across, then she will push my hand away and I don't try her more than that.

She's pretty loving really, as long as you don't push her after it's obvious she doesn't want to do something :)