NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Toki wont eat new food

Tokisdad

How long does it take your Grey to accept and eat new food?

I got Toki a bag of ZuPreem Harvest Feast 4 days ago and she won’t eat it. She sticks her beak into the bowl, shakes her head and all the food goes flying. Other times she ignores it completely.

She likes to eat at night when I put her to bed. I wanted her to eat the ZuPreem, so last night she went to her tree all I gave her was ZuPreem. In the morning she had ignored it and was acting very hungry when I came in. I felt like I was starving her so I got her a bowl of seeds and she dug right in. Should I leave the new food longer and hope she gets hungry enough to eat it? Or just consider it something she won’t accept?

Guest Lidia

One of the other flock members here soaks the pellets in grape juice to tempt her bird to eat it. I have no personal experience in this as my own bird has a seed-based diet (which, by the way, works fine).

I give him the seeds he wants in the morning and again in the evening and in between he gets fresh fruit and vegetables and a bit of whatever I'm having and, in fact, we both just had some grilled steak (he a tiny piece, me a huge piece).

He's now eighteen years old and I've had him since he was four months old and he is in perfect health. I'm not suggesting you keep him on a seed diet, but even if you give him pellets, you need to give him a variety of foods to choose from. They can be very picky, like children, and can go off stuff they liked just yesterday.