NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

My New Congo Grey

drew137

Hi everyone,

This is my first post and my first Grey. I own 2 senegal parrots as well.

My Grey was supposed to be fully weened yesterday, but it seems it does not want to eat out the food bowl or drink water out it's bowl.

When I move the food bowl up to it while it's on it's perch it will eat the food in the bowl.

Any ideas on how I can encourage the baby to eat from the bowl inside the cage rather than offering the food to it?

I am not an expert on babies, but I would offer the birdie food from the bowl (holding the bowl up to him on his perch) for a day or two and then I'd leave it in the dish holder. He'll see that bowl = food and eventually understand that you're not going to offer him food every single time he's hungry, he'll need to walk over to it.

But the other reason he may be nervous is he may not be used to moving around his cage.

I hope someone whose raised a chick can give better advice. Sometimes I hate having adopted only adult birds, but such is life!

Welcome Drew.

If your grey was "weaned" before picking him up, he would have no problem eating or drinkin from a bowl.

How old is he and was he still being fed formula once or so a day at th breeders?

Also, you should ask the breeder what types of food the baby was eating.

Thanks so much for the replies, it seem's now that I've put the food bowl on the top of the cage it's eating :D and drinking from the water bowl!

I'll see how that goes for a day or two.

After that I will move the bowls to the holders and see if it manages to find the food bowls! IMG00005_20091210_1627.jpg<br><br>Post edited by: drew137, at: 2009/12/10 15:40

IMG00005_20091210_1627.jpg

IMG00005_20091210_1627.jpg