NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Will my birds get along?

Georgiesmum

I'm bringing home my new baby grey tomorrow evening and I just need some advice on how to introduce him to my sun conure (which I'm certain Is actually a Jenday but breeder told me was a sun conure)...

Is It ok to have the both out of their cages around the house at the same time??? I'm not sure If Louie (Sun conure)Is male or female as I never got him DNA tested, so will this matter to how they get along If they are the same sex? Louie Is one. My baby grey Is a male and Is 13 weeeks<br><br>Post edited by: zzzelama, at: 2009/12/07 13:27

Well I'm no expert in this matter, but I can say a few things... are your birds clipped? That could make a difference... If Louie can fly away from your Grey then she should be safer...

I used to have a Quaker Parrot and a Parrakeet, both fully flighted, and as long as they were out of their cages they were fine, but then one day I had my Quaker out and she got onto my Parrakeet's cage and bit into one of her little toes... it was terribly scary...

I would say never leave them alone together without supervision, because you just don't know. Also, every bird is different, so watch how they interact and I think you will soon be able to tell if they are going to be friendly or not.

Hope that helps, and good luck with your babies! At least they are both young... hopefully they will accept each other before long :)