NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Free parrot behavior and training articles

particle77

Just thought I'd pass on the link to some articles I found online which I felt were very informative.

http://www.behaviorworks.org/htm/articles_behavior_change.html

Note I was particularly pleased by this find because in addition to being free, these articles were written by someone with real professional credentials.<br><br>Post edited by: particle77, at: 2009/11/28 07:16

Thanks for the links. :-)

I do agree with many of Friedmans and Brinkers opinions and theories. However, some of them, not at all.

Each person must carefully weigh what they read and what they observe dynamically through experience in real life. When you are dealing with a living, adapting and changing creature. You must learn it's personality, traits, likes and dislikes. As the quote says "Be the creature".

I have a degree in Electronic Engineering, but it has no weight in the the animal world. ;-)<br><br>Post edited by: danmcq, at: 2009/11/28 14:52

First, I totally agree with the "contra freeloading" theory and have seen it displayed many times with my two parrots presently. I believe this to be true of all creatures. Working for something always gives a good feeling of accomplishment. It has always worked with my Dobermans as well.

An example of one thing I disagree with, is her description of punishment and or negative feedback.

All creatures receive punishment or negative feedback in the wild as they are growing up. It is a necessity to get along in life with others in understanding that there are boundaries. If you cross them, expect an equal an opposite reaction.

My Grey was becoming a prolific biter at times. I first applied the technique of not offering the opportunity. This does of course work to some degree, but not always.