NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Pretty Bird

pga7602

Hi guys... As you know, i'm new to this, so please no newb bashing! When I got "coral", the original owner gave me a 20 pound bag of Pretty Bird Macaw pellets. He told me "Coral" likes it a lot. And in deed he eats it like there is no tomorrow.

My question is, is Pretty Bird a good brand of pellets? I don't know what to look for in the poo, but what I can tell is that it's like a worm with the same amount of liquid around it. Should i convert her to what I keep hearing on this forum? That Harrison stuff?

We don't do bashing here to newbies or otherwise unless it is called for so you are safe.

I feed Harrison's high potency pellets to my grey but if you were given a big bag of Pretty Bird then I would go ahead and use it, no sense letting it go to waste.

Harrisons is deemed the best by a lot of vets but that doesn't mean the other brands are worthless and especially if Coral eats it, he is getting nutrition from it, if you want to change him over to Harrisons later after this bag runs out that is up to you.

I feed Pretty Bird Species Specific for African Greys to my grey. It is what her breeder started her on and what she loves to eat. I got some samples of Harrison for her and she turned her nose up at them. As Judy says finish up the Pretty Bird and if you want to try another brand switch over then. I believe there is a thread on where to get free samples of different brands of bird pellets/foods in the Bird Food Forum Room.

Yah, just a little worry because her poo seems a little loose, but then again, this is her third day in my house, so it could be stressed. I have no idea what loose stool looks like, but every now and again, she would go and there would be nothing but a clear thick liquid shooting out...... At times, the poo looks solid and worm shaped... :(<br><br>Post edited by: pga7602, at: 2009/09/26 03:08