NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

second thoughts.

sxedanimalsxe

So as I posted about a week ago I plan on having a CAG in about a years time. I am worried maybe my lifestyle won't be conducive to a happy, full, and long healthy life for my potential grey feathered friend. My girlfriend is a high school band director. So that means she would be at work from 6ish-4,5ish monday- friday and games and contests on weekends (mostly in the fall) My self, I am an EMT (working on my paramedic) that works tuesday, thursday, saturday from 0500 to 0600pm. Also for some of the time I will be in class or doing clinical rounds. Then there is the volunteer rescue squad. 12 hour shifts 4x a month. I don't imagine being home and NOT wanting to have my friend out with me. But I am still concerned this will not be enough. I saw a blue and gold macaw, umbrella cockatoo and grey at this put-put golf course and they had pulled feathers and just seemed miserable. I would hate to be responsible for pain and suffering of an animal. I have read some posts and it seems some of you work at home, and can spend the bulk of your day with your bird(s). But I imagine at least some of you have full days as I do. The plus side to my schedule is it starts early in the morning, so I would be home by time most other "9-5" folks would be home as well. So I ask you fine folks, the experts what do you think? Can I provide a good life for one of these amazing animals? Or should I consider another breed, or drop it all together?