NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

) :

I feel frustrated and wonder if anyone has any suggestions. I am a nurse and work all sorts of weird shifts. for example tommorrow I work 3pm to 3am. sometimes I am required to work graveyard shifts. So I have to sleep in later than the bird. My apartment is small and Abby is very vocal. In the mornings if I leave the sheet over her cage she is quiet, but I feel guilty leaving it there unitl I get up. My apartment is really small and I can not sleep if she is talking a lot. I want this to work but i'm feeling really stressed about meeting her needs. I'm not sure if I'm giving her enough attention and wonder if there will ever be quiet time with her. Today I started packing to move into a larger apartment and she talked all day with out a break. Is that normal? Is it becuase I need to get her new toys? She is still biting me pretty hard but is getting better but she has also become less affectionate. I am hoping the new larger apartment will be better for everyone. I do not want to see if the owner will take her back becuase this is her third home in 3 years and she really is a good bird and she has been threw enough... Does anyone have any suggestions? How can I meet her needs and my needs?

Your constantly changing schedule is tough, but your newly re-homed Grey will adjust to it as it becomes the "Norm" for your household.

When they are just sitting, preening and watching a person work, yes they chatter, whistle and make sounds constantly unless they start drifting off to sleep.

The important thing, is that you are spending 3 to 4 hours of quality time with your grey a day and building the relationship and some type of normalcy to what your Grey knows to expect. Granted there will be times you may not be able to give that much quality time, but it should be a constant in your Greys daily routine.