NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

I am New and concerned

Hello I am new to greys. I bought a 3 yr old yesterday from a nice family. She belonged to a pet shop owner for a year and this family for 2 years. When I went to meet her she let me pick her up and pet her but I noticed she did have some biting behaviors and didn't have to much training in that area. My concern is that she plays games and doesn't always step up when i go to pick her up. some times she will bite me lightly and sometimes a little harder but I ignore it and have here step up. And she will not go to many other people. Is that normal? Can I train her not to bite and go to other people? Also Today I took her to a parrot shop not just a pet shop and the lady trimmed her nails, wings and groomed her beak a little. The lady was very rough with her. After she let my bird up from grooming she had her perched on her hand. kept making her switch hands rapidly. I don't think my bird likes being held on the right hand. My bird started biting at her and the lady held her feet and shook her up and down to make her try and fly every time she did it. My bird only tried to bite harder. Now she is biting me really hard too. The lady got her so worked up that she looked like she was panting. Since this afternoon her feet have been really warm, she has been sneezing and shaking, I can't tell if it's from fear or maybe a fever? I do not like that lady there must be a better way to train birds.<br><br>Post edited by: judygram, at: 2009/08/07 14:27

Hello CatSnack and welcome to our family, we are so glad you could join us and we look forward to hearing more about you and your new to you grey. BTW, what is her name?