NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Is my parrot tring to lay a egg??

abula

my parrot congo african grey unsexed just turned 3 on the 4th july iv noticed now a days he rips up the news paper into stripes when ever i change it i think h/she is trying to make a nest so if its a female could it be she is trying to make a nest to lay a unferilized egg on because when i change hes cage daily he attaks me to leave the newspaper i am not sure can you help me please

Hi Abula, I wish I could give you some advice here but I have no experience with egg laying greys. What you might want to do until another response comes up is run a search in the forum on "egg" and read, read, read. There is SO much good information in here I'm sure you'll find some on nesting behavior, and what to watch for.

Keep us posted!

i switched to using newspaper for my cage lining as a cheaper alternative to some shop stuff which went well for a few months untill tigerlily started tearing it to pieces. she made a right mess (more than usual lol) so i switched back.

i don't know anything about egg laying but your grey could just be playing with the newspaper and gets upset when you try and take it away you know how they'll get those beaks into ANYTHING;)