NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

grey and macaw in same cage

shazbaby36

i have a very large cage which is divide in the middle which one side as my 2 greys in and i have been told by my breeder it be ok to put my new baby macaw the other side they can see each other thought the glass but wont beable to get to each other will this be ok i have brought a filter with a hepa on it because of the dust i am just sorting everythink out before i pick my new baby macaw up

Hey shazbaby, is the cage divided with bars or glass?? As long as they can't touch each other through the divider I would think that would be ok (just my opinion, I'm no expert.) But if it is bars that divide it then they would be able to get each others toes and I don't think that would be a pretty scene. Hopefully others with chime in and give their opinion. Good luck, I bet you are sooo excited to bring home your baby!

A macaw and a grey have to be kept separated for 2 reasons

1--the most important is a macaw's nasal passages. They are extremely sensitive to grey's and cockatoo's dander. There's been many cases of macaws getting sick because of inhaling dander.

2--although both may get along, both still playfully bite and a macaw's playful bite is 3 x stronger and can seriously injure a grey and because the birds are relatively young, they will play with toys and also beak each other.<br><br>Post edited by: Dave007, at: 2009/07/06 23:33